A story of Bimba and Marriëtte - Reisverslag uit Ukunda, Kenia van Marriëtte Velde - WaarBenJij.nu A story of Bimba and Marriëtte - Reisverslag uit Ukunda, Kenia van Marriëtte Velde - WaarBenJij.nu

A story of Bimba and Marriëtte

Door: marriettevandervelde

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marriëtte

18 Mei 2011 | Kenia, Ukunda

Hi everyone,
Just a little piece of text from Bimba and Marriëtte. In English, cause Bimba can't speak Dutch of course!

We are doing really great. We are enjoying our time together in our beautiful house. Bimba teaches me everything about Kenyan live and I talk a lot about Holland. He thinks I miss Holland, because I always talk about Holland, but that is just because I want him to know about Holland, my home country, like I know his home country now. I really don't miss Holland :P
I hear weather today is not that good. I want to let you know, that weather over here is so beautiful. Blue sky, hot sun, no rains, maybe a little bit to hot! (31 degrees)
Something that I haven't mentioned yet, cause I always forget is that at night the sky over here is so beautiful! I have never seen that many stars. Really, over a 1000000 stars! Beautiful! Because of the darkness at night it is really good to see all the stars.

Today I've been to the rainbow4kids school where I also will do some voluntary work. I walked there all by myselve and didn't get lost! It took me 50 minutes walking to get there in the burning sun (sweaty!), but I survived! Am really proud of myselve and Bimba is proud of me too! After my visit to the school I went back by matatu all by myselve and I met Bimba in the cybercafé. I survived that journey too! :D In june I will start at the school, will first observe, see how Kenyan system is working and then choose and talk about what I will do. If I will be in 1 class and help around there or if I will help in more classes. And of course in which class I will help, nursery, primary or secondary.
Meanwhile, we are uploading a video of some children in the neighbourhood on facebook. After that we will go back home again and have a rest. After my walking-trip to the school I must say I am quite tired now. But, I do feel better then yesterday! The medicine is working!

Well, we want to wish everyone the best, have a great day and talk to you soon!

  • 18 Mei 2011 - 14:06

    Liesbeth D:

    Don't you miss Holland a little bit?
    xx Lies

  • 18 Mei 2011 - 14:08

    Jeanne:

    hmm I'm so jealous!!! But I am sure I will see africa once aswell! It is nice to read that you are enjoing yourself but I don't like the fact that you don't miss the Netherlands!!! :-p
    Girl enjoy!

    big hug to you and Bimba!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Kenia, Ukunda

Kenia

Mijn laatste 2 weken in Kenia.

Recente Reisverslagen:

28 Oktober 2011

Mijn laatste weekje in Kenia

28 Oktober 2011

Terug naar Mombasa/Ukunda!

28 Oktober 2011

Kisumu

18 Oktober 2011

Mfangano Island

18 Oktober 2011

Tanzania (vervolg)
Marriëtte

Jambo! Karibu sana! Vanaf april 2012 woon ik in Ukunda, Kenia. 27 april 2012 ben ik ook getrouwd met Bimba Nyiro Ngome en sinds 26 november 2012 trotse moeder van Lisa Maria Ngome en vanaf 3december 2018 moeder van Krosta Jola Ngome. In de jaren ertussenin hebben we ons gezin uitgebreiddoor het zoontje van mijn zwager in huis te nemen, Fahim of hoe we hem ook wel noemen, Masonko. En ook Saumu, de dochter van mn schoonzus woont voorlopig bij ons. Ik heb in het verleden regelmatig een blog geschreven over mijn belevenissen hier in Kenia om vrienden en familie op de hoogte te houden van al mijn belevenissen en ervaringen. Ik hoop dit in de toekomst ook weer wat vaker te gaan doen. Het lijkt me leuk af en toe ook wat van jullie te horen. Dus laat gerust een berichtje achter! Kwaheri!

Actief sinds 16 Jan. 2011
Verslag gelezen: 174
Totaal aantal bezoekers 66382

Voorgaande reizen:

12 Oktober 2011 - 26 Oktober 2011

Kenia

09 April 2012 - 30 November -0001

New life in Kenya

Landen bezocht: